Tom's On Grand was officially opened as a restaurant in 2009, as Andy’s Bar and Grille. The name was officially changed to Tom's On Grand in November of 2017. However, Tom's has a history that lays much deeper than the traditional, American cuisine that it offers today. Before it was a restaurant, Tom's was a Sinclair service station, originally opening in August of 1940 to owners Carl Miller and Joe Walloch. It remained a service station until the 1970s, offering many different auto services, such as greasing, washing, and gas tank fill-up’s.
After the service station was closed, a series of vacuum and sewing businesses occupied the building. Although the building has been significantly altered from its original construction, the rich history of Tom's On Grand is deeply embedded within to this day.